Marion County Indiana Homes & Real Estate

Included below are homes for sale and real estate in Marion County, IN. You can easily search by area if you click on the townships below, or keep scrolling to see more listings.

If you would like more information on any of these Marion County real estate listings, just click on a property to access the full details. From there, you can request more information or schedule a tour. And we'd be happy to provide you with disclosures, past sales history, dates and prices of properties which have recently sold nearby, and more, so just let us know how we can help!  If you would prefer to search for homes for sale at the City level instead of the County, you should check out our Indianapolis real estate page as well.

And, for your convenience, feel free to register for a free account to receive email alerts whenever new Marion County listings come on the market that match your specific criteria.

Thinking about buying or selling in Marion County? Call or text us at 317-751-2300 today!
Ready to speak with a local agent? Call or Text 317-751-2300
Newest Listings... November 30, 2022
Avg. DOM
Avg. $ / Sq.Ft.
Med. List Price
1904 Properties
Page 1 of 159
Ready to view this property in person or remotely? Call or Text 317-751-2300

 Marion County is located in the middle of the state of Indiana, and is home to the state's capital city Indianapolis.  Approximately 1 million people live in Marion County, making it the most populated County in the State of Indiana according to census data. Most of the population of Marion County lives in the city of Indianapolis, which extends in all directions to each of the County's borders, however there are four cities inside Marion County that have maintained full autonomy, they are known as "excluded cities" and include: Beech Grove, Lawrence, Southport, and Speedway

Indianapolis contains many neighborhoods, and has a wide variety of housing options ranging from suburban to downtown, modern or historic, house or condominum - even land.  

The county is divided into nine smaller townships, in a sort of tic-tac-toe style arrangement.  You can see the arrangment in the grid below, shown with North on top. 

Marion County Townships
Pike Township Washington Township Lawrence Township
Wayne Township Center Township Warren Township
Decatur Township Perry Township Franklin Township

Marion County has a convenient system of roads, highways, and interstates, making traveling by car convenient and easy.  If you look at a map of Marion county or Indianapolis, you'll notice an Interstate loop around the city named I-465.  The I-465 loop and several major arterial roadways that connect to it provide easy access in and out of downtown Indy for commuting or shopping. Marion County is the heart of the Indy metro area, which extends to the west to Hendricks County, north to Hamilton County, south to Johnson County, and east into Hancock County.

Marion County, Indiana is located in the center of the state and is the central county of the Metropolitan Statistical Area of Central Indiana.

Marion County has a consolidated city-county government, known as UniGov, including Indianapolis and 12 municipalities (Clermont, Crows Nest, Cumberland, Homecroft, Meridian Hills, North Crows Nest, Rocky Ripple, Spring Hill, Warren Park, Williams Creek, and Wynnedale).  Four “excluded cities” retain full government autonomy (Beech Grove, Lawrence, Southport, and Speedway).  There are 11 Marion County public school districts (Beech Grove, Franklin Township, Indianapolis, Decatur Township, Lawrence Township, Speedway, Perry Township, Pike Township, Warren Township, Washington Township, and Wayne Township.)

The median family income is $54, 142 and the median resident age is 33.9 years.  The population estimate in 2019 was 964,582 residents at a density of 2,434 residents per square mile.  The low rolling hills have been cleared of trees and devoted to municipal development or agriculture except for wooden drainage areas. Marion County has a total area of 403.01 square miles, of which 6.71 square miles are water including the White River, Eagle Creek, and Fall Creek, the latter two of which are dammed to form Eagle Creek and Geist Reservoirs.

Marion County is home to two State Parks, Fort Harrison State Park and White River State Park, the city Zoo, and many museums including the nationally recognized Indianapolis Children’s Museum, Indiana State Museum, Newfields Art Museum, Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, Kurt Vonnegut Museum, Benjamin Harrison Home and Museum, James Whitcomb Riley Home and Museum, Oldfields-Lilly House and Gardens, and the Indiana Medical History Museum. Indianapolis also has more historic monuments and memorials than any other city in the United States outside of Washington D.C.  Interestingly, architect Alexander Ralston helped design the city of Indianapolis and Washington, D.C.  The city of Speedway in Marion County is home to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway which hosts the world-famous “largest spectacle in racing”, the Indy 500, Nascar’s Brickyard 400, and the GMR Grand Prix.

Interstates 69 and 70 and several State Roads run through the County.  Marion County is part of Indiana’s 4th and 9th Congressional districts, Indiana Senate districts 35 and 37, and House of Representatives districts 47 and 91.  As of January 2022, there were 27 listings on the National Register of Historic Places located within Marion County including several homes, farms, schools, and gymnasiums.


What's the real current value of your home?

Thinking about selling? Find your home or condo's value in today's market, for free.